Our season is winding down here at Avalon and it was time for the kids to harvest their lettuce crops.  

I must say it was great to go from seed to plant to table!  That is the current rage after all !  

Anyway, it was time to pick the lettuce and pick they did, filling their bags with lettuce to take home to make a salad.

I included a salad dressing recipe that was easy enough for the kids to make with their parents. 

Here are some of the best shots…. taken by our fantastic intern Emily, who is on break from Gettysburg College.  We love her!!!!

Our Kindergartner group… getting down and dirty…. so proud of them!!!

 

Image

Miss Mae 🙂

Image

 

Dasi,,, always gentle … even with her lettuce!

 

 

Image

 

Our energetic group of 1st – 3rd graders.  A curious and interested group of kids!!!

Image

There I am… I think it’s my first appearance on my blog!!!  

Image

 

 

Smiley toothless Hannah… today we compared all of the wiggly and loose teeth the group had!!

 

 

Image

 

Silly Boys!

 

 

ImageImage

 

In the end I hope the kids will remember the time they grew their own lettuce and that it will encourage them to have their own gardens at home.  We are all so used to going to the supermarket to get our food but to actually have a hand in growing a part of your meal it is even  more meaningful!!!  Bravo to all these young gardeners.  My biggest question is who actually had salad for dinner????

Let me know!

Peace, Sue

